990 Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Here be mechanigeeks. Anything technical that is not a teething problem.
ROL99
250cc
250cc
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:39 am
Country: Austria
City: Moedling
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by ROL99 » Mon Jul 16, 2012 6:05 pm

Hi Nick and mindless,

when you import a map to the ECU, it allways shows the basic KTM map in the ECU info, in your harcopy it is the 2011 KTM Acra map, all changes or additions you make are not shown in the info for it takes the map information from the hex-file and not from your filename.

So, if TuneECU displayed the advanced download you will be fine and the new map will be in the ECU.

To my understanding don`t forget the 15 min. ini run.

@mindless, did you test it straight as uploaded by Kevxtx or did you add the mentioned F-trim of ?? percent?

Take care
Roland

P.S. I tested Marks stage3 map that I imported to the 2011 Acra map and after adding 4% through the f-trimm values ist runs pretty fine, just a very little stalling when on constant rpm at about 3000 to 4000 revs, running ROZ95 fuel hiere in Austria.

Kev, I am thinking of wether add another 1 or 2 % or trying your new map, that, compared to Marks stage3 map (with the added f-trim values), is a little richer in the lower revs and in some parts leaner and then richer again in higher revs. Btw. as well added 4% by the f-trim values in your map.
From the setup, it is close to Marks setup, just staying with the standard exhaust due to the fact on Highscores dyno the difference to after market exhausts is negligible.

Kev, any ideas from your side as you set up your map with a DNA filter, if I am correct.

Thank you
Roland

mindless
125cc
125cc
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:45 pm
Country: Sverige
City: Stockholm
Year: 2009

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by mindless » Mon Jul 16, 2012 7:20 pm

Now i'm home after a 4 hour test ride with kev`s new map. The bike has newer been this smooth. And just as nick sayes the hard engine brake are gone. Still there are some on/off throttle on the lover rpm but i think it can be hard to get rid of. Big v-twin with a lot of power from 1% throttle are hard to tame.
Rol i just downloaded kev`s map with no changes. Did a zero map in the PVC first.
About the TPS-reset i read this from Tune ecu page and there were a few thing i haven't heard before:
Reset Adaption only KTM
990cc models SD, SM, and Adventure:

The 990s must be on the center stand, and are thus stand vertically. For SD / SM models use a Paddock Stands
or the side stand with a piece of wood underneath.
The engine must be cold.
There should be the coolest possible air temperature outside, this can be very helpful for a lower fuel
consumption.
Start the engine and let it run at idle for 15 minutes. During these 15 minutes, not use the throttle or
any other functions.
The 15 minutes need to be strictly adhered to, and must not fall below. The time can only be exceeded by
a maximum of one minute.
Should the engine go out, then re-start ONLY, do not begin 15 minutes again
. (Source: German KTM Forum)

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:34 pm

Thanks for the feed back guys, I have mapped out the engine braking so you are correct in saying there is less engine braking. My main objective for this map was to smooth the beast out from Zero to 10 & throttle. You guys must remember Mark & my bike run different air boxes & mods so choose the closest map for your set up on your bike.

When doing the 15 min reset they say the bike should be up straight this is because of the oil pump pick up, I normally put a block of wood under my side stand.

Nickhk
500cc
500cc
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:49 pm
Country: Hong Kong
City: Hong Kong
Year: 2009

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Nickhk » Tue Jul 17, 2012 4:33 am

Rode to work this morning and all was good - one bar on the temp gauge and then off I set.

Also noticed the 'lack of 'engine braking in 3rd, as well as the 2nd gear that I mentioned last night - I must admit that I don't have a problem with that! Much smoother all round. I didn't change any F-trim figures for now ...

I think that map's staying on the bike for now!

Thanks again.

Nick

the brown streak
250cc
250cc
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:15 pm
Country: england
City: sheffield
Year: 2011
Colour: White

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by the brown streak » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:34 am

hi all, i have just fitted pcv and auto tune at 300 .do i still need to do the 15 min reset when i alter mapping? thanks Dave.
remember, god loves you..... everybody else thinks your a cxnt!

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:21 am

the brown streak wrote:hi all, i have just fitted pcv and auto tune at 300 .do i still need to do the 15 min reset when i alter mapping? thanks Dave.

Dave if you are working only with the PCV + AT then you do not need to do the 15 min reset.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Tue Jul 17, 2012 10:25 am

Nickhk wrote:Rode to work this morning and all was good - one bar on the temp gauge and then off I set.

Also noticed the 'lack of 'engine braking in 3rd, as well as the 2nd gear that I mentioned last night - I must admit that I don't have a problem with that! Much smoother all round. I didn't change any F-trim figures for now ...

I think that map's staying on the bike for now!

Thanks again.

Nick

If you guys want the engine braking back I can remap it back in, once you get used to it you will find the bike is much soother on & off the throttle. What I have done & the way I have built this map no one has really done before or they have not said so on any forum.

Let us know what fuel consumption you guys are getting with this map.

One other important thing I have never really mentioned is the TPS Voltage readings between bikes when sharing maps, unlike a PCV where you can Zero the TPS with Tune ECU you can't zero the TPS but you can match the voltages, when a map is shared the TPS points need to be the same otherwise the map can be in the incorrect position & the results can be mixed. I will post the Voltage reading of my TPS tomorrow when I hook my bike back up to my PC

Spark01
250cc
250cc
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:33 am
Country: NLD
City: Brabant
Year: 2010

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Spark01 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:41 am

kevxtx wrote:
I get 16 to 17 KMs per litre of fuel with the O2 sensor turned off.


If i remembered correct you set the AFR to 1:14 in the low rpm's
Which provides the low consumption.

My map is tuned for performance all the way, also the low rpm's.
That why i need the O2 for a good consumption ;)

But if any user wants to use my map without the O2 he only has to uncheck the O2 ;)

ROL99
250cc
250cc
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:39 am
Country: Austria
City: Moedling
Year: 2009
Colour: Silver

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by ROL99 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 11:53 am

kevxtx wrote: ... If you guys want the engine braking back I can remap it back in, once you get used to it you will find the bike is much soother on & off the throttle. What I have done & the way I have built this map no one has really done before or they have not said so on any forum.

Let us know what fuel consumption you guys are getting with this map.

One other important thing I have never really mentioned is the TPS Voltage readings between bikes when sharing maps, unlike a PCV where you can Zero the TPS with Tune ECU you can't zero the TPS but you can match the voltages, when a map is shared the TPS points need to be the same otherwise the map can be in the incorrect position & the results can be mixed. I will post the Voltage reading of my TPS tomorrow when I hook my bike back up to my PC
Hi Kev, for me the less breaking ist fine, I would like it as is.

One thing, you mentioned to upload a "finetuned" ;) map later this week, might it be possible until Thursday for I would like to compare it concerning the A/F ratio and, as it looks now, I will be on a dyno on Friday with the possibility to check the A/F values?

Concerning the TPS ponts, a great service as usual!!!

Thank you
Roland

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:02 pm

ROL99 wrote:
kevxtx wrote: ... If you guys want the engine braking back I can remap it back in, once you get used to it you will find the bike is much soother on & off the throttle. What I have done & the way I have built this map no one has really done before or they have not said so on any forum.

Let us know what fuel consumption you guys are getting with this map.

One other important thing I have never really mentioned is the TPS Voltage readings between bikes when sharing maps, unlike a PCV where you can Zero the TPS with Tune ECU you can't zero the TPS but you can match the voltages, when a map is shared the TPS points need to be the same otherwise the map can be in the incorrect position & the results can be mixed. I will post the Voltage reading of my TPS tomorrow when I hook my bike back up to my PC
Hi Kev, for me the less breaking ist fine, I would like it as is.

One thing, you mentioned to upload a "finetuned" ;) map later this week, might it be possible until Thursday for I would like to compare it concerning the A/F ratio and, as it looks now, I will be on a dyno on Friday with the possibility to check the A/F values?

Concerning the TPS ponts, a great service as usual!!!

Thank you
Roland
Pm me your Email address & I will send you the map I have tomorrow night as it is already 9pm here in Oz. The Fine tune is mainly the L trims below 1800rpm.

A custom map for your bike is the best way to get the right tune, I don't normally share to many of my maps as I know the only true way to get the bike right is with a custom tuned single cylinder map. I do feel with these 990's my maps can help as a good starting point as I found the Akra maps to be far from perfect & way to rich.

Nickhk
500cc
500cc
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:49 pm
Country: Hong Kong
City: Hong Kong
Year: 2009

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Nickhk » Tue Jul 17, 2012 1:22 pm

kevxtx wrote:
Nickhk wrote:Rode to work this morning and all was good - one bar on the temp gauge and then off I set.

Also noticed the 'lack of 'engine braking in 3rd, as well as the 2nd gear that I mentioned last night - I must admit that I don't have a problem with that! Much smoother all round. I didn't change any F-trim figures for now ...

I think that map's staying on the bike for now!

Thanks again.

Nick

If you guys want the engine braking back I can remap it back in, once you get used to it you will find the bike is much soother on & off the throttle. What I have done & the way I have built this map no one has really done before or they have not said so on any forum.

Let us know what fuel consumption you guys are getting with this map.

One other important thing I have never really mentioned is the TPS Voltage readings between bikes when sharing maps, unlike a PCV where you can Zero the TPS with Tune ECU you can't zero the TPS but you can match the voltages, when a map is shared the TPS points need to be the same otherwise the map can be in the incorrect position & the results can be mixed. I will post the Voltage reading of my TPS tomorrow when I hook my bike back up to my PC
NO THANKS!

Nick

the brown streak
250cc
250cc
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon May 28, 2012 9:15 pm
Country: england
City: sheffield
Year: 2011
Colour: White

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by the brown streak » Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:43 pm

kevxtx wrote:
the brown streak wrote:hi all, i have just fitted pcv and auto tune at 300 .do i still need to do the 15 min reset when i alter mapping? thanks Dave.

Dave if you are working only with the PCV + AT then you do not need to do the 15 min reset.

ok thanks kev
remember, god loves you..... everybody else thinks your a cxnt!

mindless
125cc
125cc
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:45 pm
Country: Sverige
City: Stockholm
Year: 2009

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by mindless » Tue Jul 17, 2012 9:24 pm

kevxtx wrote:
Nickhk wrote:Rode to work this morning and all was good - one bar on the temp gauge and then off I set.

Also noticed the 'lack of 'engine braking in 3rd, as well as the 2nd gear that I mentioned last night - I must admit that I don't have a problem with that! Much smoother all round. I didn't change any F-trim figures for now ...

I think that map's staying on the bike for now!

Thanks again.

Nick

If you guys want the engine braking back I can remap it back in, once you get used to it you will find the bike is much soother on & off the throttle. What I have done & the way I have built this map no one has really done before or they have not said so on any forum.

Let us know what fuel consumption you guys are getting with this map.

One other important thing I have never really mentioned is the TPS Voltage readings between bikes when sharing maps, unlike a PCV where you can Zero the TPS with Tune ECU you can't zero the TPS but you can match the voltages, when a map is shared the TPS points need to be the same otherwise the map can be in the incorrect position & the results can be mixed. I will post the Voltage reading of my TPS tomorrow when I hook my bike back up to my PC

Ok kev When you get Voltage from your bike Could you give a quick guide how to get the same value as you in Tuneecu...Thank

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Wed Jul 18, 2012 4:23 am

Update July -17-2012, TuneECU 2.3.3 now Released
Note:
* Fixed bug: in version 2.3.x when changing map parameters.

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Wed Jul 18, 2012 9:57 am

My throttle TPS voltage is set to 0.63 volts with the bike idling with the engine at operating temp.

Run the bike until operating temp is reached then leave the bike idling, connect Tune ECU then go into the TEST screen top right corner & look at your TPS voltage, if you need to adjust the voltage loosen the torxs screw & adjust the TPS to suit. If you download the map & adjust the TPS voltage you will need to do a cold 15min idle reset.

Image
Image

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Wed Jul 18, 2012 10:18 am

I have just listed a slightly tweeked Tune ECU, 7/ Kev RC8 Stacks 18.7.12.PCV IMPORTED.hex. To the 8 guys that have donwloaded my 13/7/12 Tune ECU map, can you please download the latest version.

I still have one or two more ideas to get a smooth ride which I am working on right now, I will keep you guys posted if it all works out.

Spark01
250cc
250cc
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:33 am
Country: NLD
City: Brabant
Year: 2010

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Spark01 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 11:24 am

A 15min idle has only use when you reset the adaption value's!.

And the reset adaption value's can only done with tuneecu by reloading a mapping (this is in the tuneecu manual).

Most of the times i didn't do a 15min idle after a map load.
The bike is than a bit more argresive on the throttle in the beginning but that wil disapear after some km's.

Bootworks
Supporter
Supporter
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2010 11:31 pm
Country: USA
City: Livermore California
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Bootworks » Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:04 am

Baby steps. Left my bike with my tuner, hope to have it back tomorrow or Friday. A custom PCV map (about US$300), which seems like the next logical step.

Kelly, at DJ, states (about PCV + AT-300) in response to: It's been found out why we have been battling tunning the 990 low down using the PCV + AT, the KTM OEM HEX map runs quite a bit more TPS variances 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10% openings, the PCV runs 0, 2, 5, 10%. Perhaps the PCV can't tune the map that fine..."
States: "The Power Commander will interpolate fuel changes in between the throttle position columns that are available. In other words, if you tune the columns that are there already, you should still have the appropriate fuel changes when you are in between the columns. The bike should run good in all engine ranges."

I'm in awe of Kev and the rest of the guys here that have a solid grasp of the technical details. Trying to learn and distill all this information into useable nuggets (without possessing the technical skills) has been a challenge: But by duplicating some of the steps I hope to end up with the SMT I want. Thanks for your coaching and patience with those of us not as technically gifted.

Dani
125cc
125cc
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon May 21, 2012 6:55 pm
Country: Italy
City: Bolzano
Year: 2008

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by Dani » Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:28 am

Hey guys,
anyone knows on which kind of map its based this PCV trims?

6/ 2009-2010 KTM 990SM
M18-005-504
Akro Full system baffles removed
MWR airbox mod
O2 eliminator fitted
mapped 09-02-12 RR
Made by Dyno jet UK

should i use the standard or the akro map whith this trims?

thanks and nice day!

User avatar
kevxtx
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 4735
Joined: Fri May 27, 2011 11:40 am
Country: Australia
City: Brisbane
Year: 2014

Re: Power Commander 5 & Tune ECU custom maps

Post by kevxtx » Thu Jul 19, 2012 10:55 am

Bootworks wrote:Baby steps. Left my bike with my tuner, hope to have it back tomorrow or Friday. A custom PCV map (about US$300), which seems like the next logical step.

Kelly, at DJ, states (about PCV + AT-300) in response to: It's been found out why we have been battling tunning the 990 low down using the PCV + AT, the KTM OEM HEX map runs quite a bit more TPS variances 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10% openings, the PCV runs 0, 2, 5, 10%. Perhaps the PCV can't tune the map that fine..."
States: "The Power Commander will interpolate fuel changes in between the throttle position columns that are available. In other words, if you tune the columns that are there already, you should still have the appropriate fuel changes when you are in between the columns. The bike should run good in all engine ranges."
After 9 custom Dyno maps on my SMR over the past 12 months, I agree to disagree. I love the PCV as a tuning device I have been using the for a long time now. I have just taken it one step further & I can prove there is a difference in the smaller throttle openings by importing a good PCV map into a OEM Hex map.

The ultimate tune is always a custom map for your own bike, I am sure you are going to be happy with your tune, let us know how you get on.

Post Reply